top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZoe Wheeler

The best releases of 2020 so far.

We are approaching the halfway point of what has been an incredibly long and somewhat dull year. Although covid-19 has seen the closure of concert venues across the world, it has allowed room for the music industry to adapt and create music and experiences which have rarely been seen before. The music releases from the past six month have provided entertainment and an escape from reality for everyone who has been stuck at home during this pandemic. I have compiled my personal favourite releases of 2020 so far in a short list below. If there is anything on this list you have not listened to, I highly recommend you give them a listen!


Petals For Armor – Hayley Williams


Kicking off the list is Paramore’s own, Hayley Williams, with her side project Petals For Armor. After the initial release of the first single from the record, Simmer, I instantly fell in love with this project and the sound of the album. As a long time Paramore fan, I was sceptical as to whether I would enjoy the new sound Hayley had spoken about but needless to say she did not disappoint. The album acts as a therapeutic output for her as she navigates through themes of vulnerability, femininity, and growth. The record starts with the lead single, Simmer, in which Hayley seems to battle with her angsty-teen persona in Paramore and how she has grown in maturity and is now further embracing her femininity. This is explored in her lyrics “nothing cuts like a mother” and “wrap yourself in petals for armour.” Hayley also writes about her past marriage with New Found Glory’s, Chad Gilbert, in the song Dead Horse and her regret for allowing herself to stay in a relationship in which she wasn’t truly happy in, “I beat it like a dead horse, I beat it like a drum, oh, I stayed with you too long.” Despite the vulnerable and depressing lyrics, the song has a happy and poppy sound to it which could be a metaphor for her marriage suggesting Hayley tried to sugar coat how she truly felt. Hayley’s song writing has been incredible throughout her career in Paramore but the vulnerability and honesty in this record really demonstrates how talented of an artist she is. This album takes you on a journey of experimental sounds and explores a myriad of pent up emotions which create a record that is well worth a listen.


death – nothing,nowhere.


Nothing,nowhere’s latest single, death, also deserves a mention as one of the best releases of the year. Nothing,nowhere, AKA Joe Mulherin, is rarely confined by genre boundaries and this latest single proves exactly that. The dark lyrics paired with angsty, sometime screamo, vocals contrasted with intense whispers, death is unlike anything he has released before. The repeated lyrics of “I scare myself to death” followed by a goose-bump-inducing breakdown, place this single as one of my favourites of the year. It is also worth mentioning his recent single nightmare. This single was dropped early on in the year, but I have had it on repeat since. Nightmare stands out from the crowd from his other music; the combination of the upbeat music intertwined with angsty lyrics and the almost 80s vibe music video, nightmare is a sure-fire hit.


When You Know – Neck Deep


When Neck Deep first released this song in mid-April I had it on constant repeat. When you know has it all; it’s a catchy love song with a summery vibe to it, which somehow still captures Neck Deep’s signature sound. Lyrically, it’s not their best work, yet it fits with sound of the song and the chorus will get stuck in your head. Neck Deep are set to release their new album, All Distortions Are Intentional, on July 24th which I know many fans are excited for. Although this song wasn’t a huge change from the usual Neck Deep sound, they know what sound works for them and they keep putting out guaranteed hits which the fans, for the most part, seem to love. That’s not to say they haven’t progressed over time with their sound and evolved in a way which is unequivocally them.


Parasite Eve – Bring Me The Horizon


I was very sceptical going in to listening to Parasite Eve because I personally hadn’t enjoyed the record they put out last December, Music to listen to…, and it even took some time for the single, Ludens, to grow on me. With that in mind, I really enjoyed this track and it’s one of my favourite songs the band has released in the past few years. It’s difficult to categorise what genre this song would fall under and it would do a disservice to put Bring Me The Horizon in a box due to their constant experimental and evolving sound. The band’s front man, Oli Sykes, spoke to NME and revealed that this song, along with Ludens, will fall under four different records the band is making under the name Post Human. There is definitely a nod to the bands older sound in this single, reminiscent of the That’s The Spirit era and even hints of their 2013 album, Sempiternal. Bring Me The Horizon always seem to be one step ahead of the game with their sound, with many bands being inspired by their music and the way they evolve and experiment. What was intended to be a lyrically nihilistic and futuristic song, eerily reflects the future under the current pandemic which I would argue makes it ever more relevant and important. I highly recommend giving this song a listen even if you haven’t been a fan of the bands more recent experimental sound.


Annabelle – Creeper


When it was revealed that after Creeper’s year-long disappearance they would be releasing music again, I was incredibly excited. Creeper were, and still are, one of my favourite bands and it felt like they were at the start of the career so I was very interested as to where they were going to go with the new album, Sex, Death And The Infinite Void. Out of the few songs they have released off the new album, Annabelle is easily my favourite song. Frontman, Will Gould, told Kerrang Annabelle is a “satanic underworld anthem, a song to sing together in defiance” for fans of the band who feel they don’t fit in anywhere. The song has an almost retro feel to it paired with upbeat music with a message that many punk and emo fans can relate to.


Wavelength – Stand Atlantic


Stand Atlantic have been growing ever more successful over the past couple years and it’s especially refreshing to see a female-led pop punk band achieving this kind of exposure. Its also exciting that this early on in their career the band is already experimenting with new sounds and pushing genre boundaries. The song pairs catchy riffs and drum beats with an almost electro-style breakdown. The band even experiments with vocal effects which really bring the song together. Even lyrically this song is about challenging your own personal boundaries which is expressed in the lyrics “Sweeping ugly statements / I’m just killing all my feelings, I’m done.” This song is a great example of what the band are capable of, and I urge you to listen to their new album Pink Elephant out 7th August this year.


You’ll Be Fine – Hot Mulligan


It was only recently I started listening to Hot Mulligan and I’m a really big fan of this record. The intro track to the album, OG Blue Sky, might be my favourite song off this record. It sets a punchy, yet happy start to the album which is matched with rhythmic guitar riffs and shouty vocals. Lyrically, this album reminds me of the work of Tiny Moving Parts and Modern Baseball; bands of which embody emo style pop punk. Much like Tiny Moving Parts, I enjoy the seemingly happy and uplifting guitar riffs and instrumentals with heavily contrasted dark lyrics which Hot Mulligan have done really well on this album. The lyrics to *Equip Sunglasses* further express how well the band does this, “It’s getting harder not to lose myself / When you clearly wanted someone else / Staying awake ‘cause I never feel safe at home / Double-check the locks and hide my phone.” Overall, this album is definitely one of my favourite releases of this year so far and I think Hot Mulligan’s combination of emo and pop punk has really allowed them to create a refreshing sound in the scene.


Tune You Out – Knuckle Puck


I was a big fan of this release when it came out in February this year. Tune You Out is 100% authentically Knuckle Puck and embodies the modern-day pop punk sound which many know and love. Lyrically, well at least compared to their 2015 album Copacetic, I wouldn’t say it’s the bands best work but its unapologetically pop punk sound with angsty lyrics have proven popular with fans in the pop punk community. Knuckle Puck knows what works for them as a band and this song feels oddly nostalgic and reminiscent of their debut album Copacetic and echoes where their music was at the start of their career.

These were just a few of the releases I’ve been listening to this year and I can’t wait to see what the next six months of music is going to be like. I have linked a Spotify playlist below which consists of all the songs mentioned in this blog as well as some others which I have enjoyed this year.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page